U.M.B.S. TOASTMASTERS CLUB

Whether you are faculty, staff or a student, Toastmasters is the best way to improve your communication skills! Toastmasters helps you gain more confidence speaking in public while teaching skills to help you succeed in your career.


Reasons to attend our meetings:

  • Network in an atmosphere of professional camaraderie
  • Increase your self-esteem and confidence
  • Learn to speak more effectively by improving your communication skills
  • Improve your presentation skills for small to large groups
  • Improve "thinking on your feet" skills
  • Learn to be a better listener
  • Acquire an increased ability to motivate and persuade, making you more effective as a supervisor, manager or faculty member
  • Learn to lead teams and conduct meetings
  • Give and receive constructive evaluation -- comfortably.

You already have some or all of these skills. In Toastmasters, you will enhance them.

Find some tips on speaking.

We typically meet the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Click here for information on upcoming meetings and Toastmasters Speaker Series events at the Business School.

 

Contact an Officer:

 

Victor Kan, President

(Masters student in the Executive MBA program), vkan@umich.edu

Cyndy Cleveland, Vice President, Education

(UMBS Corporate Environmental Management Program), tel: 647-9709, cyndyc@umich.edu

Ed Caldwell, Vice President, Public Relations

(College of Engineering), tel: 7-7156, edjc@umich.edu

Nathan Bos, Vice President, Membership

(School of Information), tel: 7-7730, serp@umich.edu

Faith Vlcek, Secretary

(William Davidson Institute), tel: 936-5042, fvlcek@umich.edu

Connie Lawson, Treasurer

(UMBS Executive Education), tel: 763-8147, chlawson@umich.edu

Newcombe Clark, Sergeant At Arms

(University of Michigan College of Engineering student), nbclark@umich.edu

 

Contact a Member:

 

Jeff Cox

(Ph.D. student in EECS), jeffcox@umich.edu

Michelle Galbraith

(UMBS, Admissions and Career Development), tel: 936-4831, mgal@umich.edu

Linda Grischy, Immediate Past President
(UMBS Tauber Manufacturing Institute), tel: 647-2220, lindag@umich.edu

Rajeev Krishna

(Ph.D. student in EECS), rkrishna@umich.edu

Nancy Schuon

(UMBS Global Learning Center), tel: 936-1117, nschuon@umich.edu

Fran Shadley

(UMBS Research Support), tel: 763-9266, frans@umich.edu

 

Membership is open to UMBS Faculty and Staff, as well as those outside of the UMBS community.
Contact Victor Kan, Club President, for details.

Visit the Toastmasters International website.  Read the Mission Statement (.pdf file).


The names "Toastmasters International," "Toastmasters," and the Toastmasters International emblem are trademarks protected in the United States, Canada, and other countries where Toastmasters Clubs exist. Unauthorized use is prohibited.